1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Green Day Reveal 'Dos!' Track List, Cancel Festival Appearance

By October 9, 2012

Follow me on:

Green Day are making a lot of headlines lately, but not all that news is good. Of course, they've just released Uno!, the first disc of a trilogy of records that will be coming our way in the next few months, but album promotion has taken a backseat to concern over frontman Billie Joe Armstrong, who recently went into rehab after throwing a fit during the band's show in Las Vegas at the end of September. That back-and-forth between good and bad news continued this week as Green Day unveiled the track list for the second album in the series, Dos!, while announcing they're pulling out of a festival performance.

First, the good news: Dos! will be hitting stores on November 13, and it will feature 13 tracks. The first track made available is "Stray Heart," a rollicking, sing-along tune about a girl the narrator just can't win over. (And it appears that the third disc, Tre!, is still scheduled for January 13, 2013.)

At the same time, though, Green Day had to cancel their slot at Voodoo Music + Arts Experience on October 27, which was going to be a headlining performance. The band's drummer, Tré Cool, said in a statement, "Canceling shows is something we rarely do. We never want to let our fans down, and we are grateful for all of you being understanding during this time."

The reason for the cancellation, one has to assume, is because of Armstrong's rehab. But if the band members had to pull out of a show slotted for the end of October, where does that leave their North American tour, which starts up November 26?

No one knows, but you'd have to wonder how much prep time the group will be able to have for these shows if Armstrong is still in treatment. Bassist Mike Dirnt, who's featured on the cover of Dos!, recently said, "[the band] had to put the life of our friend in front of everything" and that the intensity of the buildup to Uno!'s release "was a tremendous undertaking... It catches up with you a little bit. We definitely jumped off a moving train." Whether Armstrong will be in any condition to jump off that train again in less than two months is something a lot of people will be keeping an eye on over the next several weeks.

Dos! Track List:

  • "See You Tonight"
  • "F*** Time"
  • "Stop When the Red Lights Flash"
  • "Lazy Bones"
  • "Wild One"
  • "Makeout Party"
  • "Stray Heart"
  • "Ashley"
  • "Baby Eyes"
  • "Lady Cobra"
  • "Nightlife"
  • "Wow! That's Loud"
  • "Amy"

See more upcoming rock releases

Follow Rock Music on Twitter and Facebook

Photo: Felisha Tolentino.


Comments are closed for this post.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Rock Music

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.