1. Entertainment

Hold Steady Frontman Craig Finn Reveals Track List to First Solo Album, 'Clear Heart Full Eyes'

By November 9, 2011

Follow me on:

The Hold Steady put out their most recent album last year, but the next music you'll be hearing from frontman Craig Finn won't be with his band. Instead, he's putting out a solo record, his first, which will come out January 24, 2012. Fans of the acclaimed TV drama Friday Night Lights will definitely appreciate the name of Finn's record: Clear Heart Full Eyes. It's a play on the motto of the show's football team, "Clear eyes, full hearts, can't lose."

In a statement, Finn referenced the NBC show, saying it "excited and moved me." Additionally, since Finn recorded Clear Heart Full Eyes in Texas, where the show was set, the connection worked that way as well. "'Clear Heart' signifies honesty and transparency," he explained about the significance of the album title, "and 'Full Eyes' suggests experience. Thus, it's about being optimistic and open without succumbing to the weariness or doubt that comes with age and experience."

These are themes that will definitely be familiar to folks who love the Hold Steady: Over the band's career, Finn has written about people who are having difficult times adjusting to the demands of adulthood while trying to hold on to the idealism of youth. It will be interesting to hear how a Finn solo album compares to his superb work with his regular band -- and to see if there are any more Friday Night Lights references buried in the lyrics.

Clear Heart Full Eyes Track List:

  • "Apollo Bay"
  • "When No One's Watching"
  • "No Future"
  • "New Friend Jesus"
  • "Jackson"
  • "Terrified Eyes"
  • "Western Pier"
  • "Honolulu Blues"
  • "Rented Room"
  • "Balcony"
  • "Not Much Left of Us"

See more upcoming rock releases

Follow Rock Music on Twitter

Photo: Christopher Polk/Getty Images for Heineken.


Comments are closed for this post.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>
Top Related Searches
  • solo album
  • finn
  • craig
  • heart
    1. About.com
    2. Entertainment
    3. Rock Music

    ©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.